A Change in the Weather

For those of you who don’t stay constantly connected to social media, I figured it was about time I told you that I have a new address and a job title! Two things that seemed constantly unsettled. The first wouldn’t stop changing and the latter wouldn’t fully identify itself. But the wind and waters have settled and so have I.

Charleston, South Carolina is a small city on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean. If you start at the far edge of the sand and head West about seven minutes you arrive at a small yellow home with a big front porch, a green roof and a wild backyard. This is my home and I love it dearly.

But I digress, so let me back up a few days, or perhaps months. Last we talked I was about to leave Colorado to fly home. Well as you can safely assume that flight happened and I landed back in the good ol’ state of North Carolina. I went to Homecoming at App and then celebrated my brothers wedding with a week of unforgettable sand, sun and pure happiness! After gaining a new sister the end of October I settled in for the long task of finding a job. Most of November consisted of me in front of the computer or on the phone and it wasn’t very fun. December I started shadowing people and meeting for interviews. My weeks consisted of traveling to Raleigh multiple times, following along on shoots in Charlotte and taking a lot of people out for coffee to hear about their lives.

Now to the good stuff! I ended up getting introduced to a company called Water Missions International through my father (an amazing man) and after applying for an internship I was asked to come for a visit. The week before Christmas I headed down to Charleston for an interview and spent two days visiting the office, meeting people and getting a feel for the organization. Tuesday the 23rd I received an email from WMI with an offer for a paid contract position! I wasn’t going to know anything more until after the holidays and I will be honest in saying those two weeks were tough to sit through. I didn’t want to announce anything until the official offer had been signed so I sat with my lips sealed and waited for the new year to start.

Monday, January 5th I received a call asking if I would be able to move to Charleston and start work the following Monday, January 12th. Filled with excitement and anticipation I heartily agreed and said I would be there on Saturday… 5 days later. So I packed up my stuff, which wasn’t anything really, hugged mom and dad, and headed south. I arrived Saturday and had a meeting set up to see a house I had found through Seacoast (a church here). I left two hours after initially arriving at the house with two new friends and two new roommates! After first hearing about this home I had looked it up and knew immediately that it would be the one for me. So I had started praying about it, asking God that if it was “the one” that He would give all of us involved peace and that the house would fit every need I was hoping to fill. He went above and beyond, and after being settled here for three days I can honestly say I feel as though I’ve been here and known these girls for years. Granted I have almost no furniture and my clothes are piled up on the floor. But I’m dealing with those small things one day at a time, trusting that God will provide exactly what I need when it’s time.

Home Sweet HomeThis is my little nest!

I moved here one week ago and have experienced my first full week of work. To be honest, I LOVED it! I couldn’t ask for a better job or people to work with. Not only is the organization an incredible tool of the Lords but the people who work there have gone above and beyond to help me get settled in. Do me a favor and go check out WMI because the work we are doing is changing lives all over the world!

As we like to put it: Water Missions International is a nonprofit Christian engineering organization providing sustainable safe water and sanitation solutions for people in developing countries and disaster areas.

What I do: My title is Communications Assistant and I’m working as a writer for the organization. My job is to pull stories from the field about what God is doing to provide safe and Living water around the world.

There is so much more to it but this is really long as it is and this post barely even touches on the things I’ve learned, the constant heavy feeling in my head from the amount of information and the glory of God that radiates from every aspect of this situation.

God is all over this; His name is written on every part and I am astounded by Him. He freely gives to an unimaginable extent and when I walk into work or pull into the driveway at home I am reminded again and again of the ridiculous amount of grace He has shown me. There is nothing good that I deserve and yet He has provided me with a front row seat to His plans for this world. I get to watch Him work every day, in dramatic ways. I wish I could think more clearly tonight to express exactly what is happening in my heart during this time. It is a beautiful picture of who He is. But at 12:40 AM after an incredible and completely exhausting week I can’t seem to find the words or direction. So I will just say that in all the messy chaos and intensity that makes up my life, I am completely content and filled with joy. For my God is a great and powerful God who gives so much more than I can comprehend. He really does love us. Completely.

I will try to write again soon and I’m sorry for the inconsistent writing. Hopefully next time will be shorter. Feel free to call me or email me (reebjennie@gmail.com) if you want to know more.

A special thanks to all those who supported me, encouraged me, walked beside me and loved me during the past few months. God has led me here and this new season has started and I know He brought you all into my life to make it happen. Especially my parents. You two made all the difference and I will be forever grateful.

Also, my house is always open to guests and Charleston is a lovely place so feel free to come for a visit!

3 thoughts on “A Change in the Weather

  1. A change in the weather indeed! I enjoyed your blog – God has provided again, and we all got a front-row seat at seeing it happen. Your home looks lovely and I can’t wait to see you and it!

    I have an extra queen-size white comforter here, that you are welcome to have – it could be used as is, or slipped into a duvet cover, and lots of people put the next-size up comforter on a bed, so that there is plenty of material to cover the mattress/boxsprings on the sides. Just a thought. When we come, we can bring your beach chair, bench and whatever else you may need there.

    Today Dad and I painted Caro’s desk and side table and I hope to paint her bedroom this week or next – should have two comfy guest rooms ready in short order. 🙂 Hope your desk-painting project goes well.

    Praying for you as your roll into week two tomorrow – keep up the good work! 🙂

    xo, Mom

  2. Congratulations on your new vision. May God bless all you do and keep you in His love as you move on in your Christian walk with the Lord. Grandpa and Grandma Walker (Lots of love always).

  3. Pingback: A God Who’s Full of Surprises: Part 1 – Life with Bettie | Footsteps of Tender Feet

Leave a comment