Four Walls and Freedom

I arrived on a Sunday. The sudden turn around of location threw me off but I’ve unpacked my belongings and my mind, and the whirling is starting to abate a bit. It’s been a full week of learning system operations, Haitian culture and language, and my role among it all. I can say that after a week I finally feel as though I’m starting to gain some traction in my work.

Processed with VSCOcam with lv01 preset

Haiti from above

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Port-Au-Prince

Last week was tough. Slow moving work has never been my favorite. I like to know what needs to be done and do it. There’s always something new to learn when walking in the path of Jesus though. So I’m learning these lessons of patience and diligence with the same focus and determination I would any other task.

Kids at Greta Home and Academy

Kids at Greta Home and Academy

Processed with VSCOcam with s2 preset

Port-Au-Prince

The weekend was slow. Since arriving on base last Tuesday I have only left once for a few hours on Friday to go grocery shopping. It’s hard to remember that the four walls holding me in are actually there to keep things out. Within the first few days I was experiencing homesickness. Or maybe freedom-sickness is more accurate. You see, I can’t handle the idea of being stuck somewhere. It’s one of my greatest fears. And here I am, stuck on a compound in a city that’s more dangerous than anywhere else I’ve been. When you mix that with the slow work, homesickness is inevitable.

Water Missions International

Water Missions International Collecting coconuts with Wilkey.

Water Missions International

The Water Missions Haiti compound. Storm’s a-brewin’.

But the best part of my job beings tomorrow. Jean, Sabire and I are heading up-country tomorrow to a small village just outside Saint Marc. We will work there for two days and then I’ll travel to another village with our country director Julio to visit a different community. While I’m on this trip my sole responsibility is to take photos and interview people. So naturally I’m pumped out of my mind. The closer I get though, the more nervous I become. This is something the communications team and I have dreamed of for a long time. Now the opportunity to fulfill this need of storytelling has come and I’m nothing but shaky nerves. Classic.

Water Missions International

Tesa loves bath time

Water Missions International

Elsa dries off our guard dog Tesa.

Prayers for safety would be much appreciated. I am taking some nice equipment with me and would like to return with it and myself all intact 🙂

As I contemplate my life here and all that I’ve experience over the past week, I’m especially thankful for the freedoms we experience in America. So as you take the dog for a walk or cannon-ball into the pool today, take a moment to say thanks. Hats off to those beautiful people who made and are making all the glory of America possible. Happy Memorial Day y’all!

See you on the other side.

4 thoughts on “Four Walls and Freedom

  1. Appreciated your email and will continue prayer for you.It would be very challenging to have walls of any kind but remember safety and then give thanks. You are out in the field so to speak as i write . Even the trip could be most interesting . i miss you. it has been busy with the DAveys here. They leave WEd. AM. Spoleto started last Friday . I Have been to 2-3 things. just got back from supper with Mikell and Mary’s family as Elizabeth leaves for Branson . She gave us a little time!!!!! love to you. Headed to WM tomorrow and your face will be sadly missed.

    Blessings! Bettie Clark

    >

  2. Interesting update Jen. Praying that the Holy Spirit (the Helper) will do just that whether you are having fast, or slow days! Praying for a good trip for you and the camera equipment! Xo

Leave a comment